Review: Lande Hekt – Going To Hell

Going To Hell is the debut solo LP from Muncie Girls’ Lande Hekt, offering something a little more personal in prose that is both poetic and to the point. This album sees Hekt open up about her journey of coming out and embracing her truth within heteronormative culture.
Continue reading “Review: Lande Hekt – Going To Hell”

Review: Yore’s self-titled debut album – a sweet slice of indie zen

Yore is the latest project by East-London based musician and producer, Callum Brown. No stranger to the music and art scene, Brown uses his connections to produce a collaborative album to debut Yore – a new venture for experimentation after working with the likes of Mint Field and Ulrika Spacek. The self-titled debut is an utterly seamless and dreamlike variety of tracks – a treat for the ears that simultaneously soothes the soul.
Continue reading “Review: Yore’s self-titled debut album – a sweet slice of indie zen”

The Last Dinosaur – Wholeness: A Profound & Personal Journey

Emotive, personal and downright magnificent are just a few words that you could use to describe the latest offering from The Last Dinosaur. Wholeness is the third album from Jamie Cameron under this moniker; an incredibly immersive piece of art, and a real testament to the power of his musical creativity. With some work on this release having been started in 2012, it is by all means a long time coming, but something about that makes each note sound more refined. Every little bit counts towards something important, each element standing out in a different way with every listen.
Continue reading “The Last Dinosaur – Wholeness: A Profound & Personal Journey”

Art pop bliss and then some with Buggie’s ‘Fool Potential’

Dripping in synth and electro pop vibes, new artist Buggie’s first solo venture, Fool Potential is every little bit bubblegum pop on the surface, but not without strong messages of society. This is an album bound to tick a few boxes for fans of Grimes and Robyn, while also offering the individual flavour of Buggie’s sound.
Continue reading “Art pop bliss and then some with Buggie’s ‘Fool Potential’”

Mini Book Reviews #3

Books really are a little piece of magic. Though I had imagined myself having read more books by this point in the year, those that I have finished have been thoroughly enjoyable. These particular reviews come from yet another selection of borrowed books. In a way these are my favourite; knowing that I have someone who understands the thoughts and feelings each story evokes. Of course, a lot of the books I’m reading lately have been read by many peers, but in any case, it’s just a nice thing to share.

Continue reading “Mini Book Reviews #3”

Mini Book Reviews #2

It is a few months in to the year and I am making sure to remind myself that there is no hard and fast rule to reading. Obviously. Take it at my own pace, admit if there is a book I am not enjoying, move on, maybe come back to it later, maybe not. I think that rather than trying to reach a seemingly impossible number, it is way more valuable to spend time on books I really feel a connection to. That being said, I feel that in the spirit of all things social distancing, my pile of finished books will grow exponentially over the next few weeks.

Continue reading “Mini Book Reviews #2”

Mini Book Reviews #1

You know it, new year – new goal to read more books. Predictable as ever. Regardless, we are just over one month in and I am three (and a bit) books deep. Two were Christmas presents and another was a charity shop find on a cool and crisp Sunday day out in Romsey. Cute, I know. When it comes to a winning novel, for me it’s either going to be a thriller or something deeply rooted in relationships – platonic, romantic or family orientated. To give you a rough idea, my current lasting favourites are A Little Life (Hanya Yanagihara) and The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern). The first, truly heartbreaking, spanning years of the relationship between four friends in New York; the latter somewhat based in a world of fantasy, but it’s the relationship between the two protagonists that I found particularly compelling.

Continue reading “Mini Book Reviews #1”

The Humans by Matt Haig

I started following Matt Haig on Twitter after one of his books (How To Stop Time) featured on Lush Book Club, with the intention of reading said book, and immediately I found his voice to be one I understood and respected relentlessly. Of course I am yet to read How To Stop Time, but I did eventually decide that it was about time I actually made a start on his collection. Easy decision then when it came to my Mum asking what I wanted for Christmas; any book by Matt Haig please!

Continue reading “The Humans by Matt Haig”

VH REVIEW: MINT FIELD – PASAR DE LAS LUCES

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Now here is a spiritual album and a half. Just a few seconds into ‘Ojos En El Carro’ and this band had fully caught my attention. As I delved into the album I fell deeply under Mint Field’s spell. A duo that do just what they want; long tracks with haunting layers and absolute bliss.

Continue reading “VH REVIEW: MINT FIELD – PASAR DE LAS LUCES”